Are you interested in running for the Board of Governors? 

Fifteen members of the Board of Governors are Active Members in good standing with the State Bar elected in their districts. The president of the Young Lawyers Division is also a voting member of the Board.  In addition, the Arizona Supreme Court makes 10 appointments to the Board.

The state is divided into eight Bar Districts and the number of Governors per District is determined by Rule 32(e)(2)(A) Ariz. R. Sup. Ct. Elected and appointed members serve staggered three-year terms.

Board District Location # of Governors # of Openings in 2025
1 Mohave, Navajo, Coconino and Apache Counties 1 0
2 Yavapai County 1 0
3 Gila, Graham and Greenlee Counties 1 1
4 Cochise County 1 0
5 Pima and Santa Cruz Counties 2 0
6 Maricopa County 7 3
7 La Paz and Yuma Counties 1 0
8 Pinal County 1 1

Each elected Governor must be an Active Member of the State Bar of Arizona throughout the elected term. For five years prior to election to the Board, each elected Governor must have been an Active State Bar Member and have had no record of disciplinary sanctions under Rule 60.   

Candidates must submit the following (nomination packet) to be eligible to run for election:

  • Nominating petition signed by at least five active State Bar members. Each candidate named in a petition and all members signing such petition shall have their principal place of business in the district the candidate is nominated to represent
  • Brief biographical sketch or candidate's statement (125 words maximum)
  • Answers to questions posed to all candidates (200 words maximum)
  • Discipline disclosure statement
  • High-resolution digital photograph (300 dpi, jpg format)

For more information or to obtain a nomination packet, please contact Carrie.Sherman@staff.azbar.org or dial 602.340.7201.

This page is managed by Carrie Sherman